Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2000 Neon Sentry Key Question

Burnout524
05-11-2006, 04:01 PM
Is there any way to get, cut, and program a Sentry Security key for a 2000 Neon ES without having to visit the dealer? My uncle says it cost him $70 to go to the dealer to get a new key for his 02 Sebring. I just want a key for my girlfriends car incase she loses/forgets her keys somewhere. Right now, i've got a key for the car without the chip, so i can unlock the car, but if i try to start it, the engine will turn over then die a few seconds later. She's got a key that will start the Olds (no chip) but i want a key that will start the Neon.

tch1717
05-11-2006, 05:04 PM
hey, i am a tech at a chrysler dealer, so to program your key to the skim module you have to have the "pin" number, then program with chrysler scanner, i have heard that you can program with other scanners , i.e. snap-on, but i am not positive nor have i actually seen it done, but you will have to contact chrysler (or a dealer with identification of current owner) to get the pin #, they are very tight about giving that info out. (can you blame them ?)

Burnout524
05-12-2006, 05:20 PM
Hmm sounds like more trouble than its worth, especially since i don't have access to a scanner nor do i wanna get the run around from the dealership.

I read something earlier this morning on how to program the Sentry keys for an 02 Stratus and a Grand Cherokee and was wondering if it would work on the Neon. The directions:

A. Purchase a blank key and have it cut
B. Insert original key #1 into ignition and turn to On
C. Wait 5 seconds and turn key to off
D. Immediately insert original key # 2 into ignition and turn to on
E. Wait 10 seconds for SKIS (Sentry Key Immobilizer System) indicator in dash starts to flash
F. Turn ignition off, insert new blank key and turn ignition back on
G. Once SKIS light stops flashing and turns off, your new key is programmed

FWIW, I have 2 original keys that came with the car...