Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

what glues do you use?

indybhogal
05-11-2006, 10:05 AM
Hi just wondering what glues everyone uses. I tried CA tamiya cement but that left horrible white clouds everywhere where i finger printed the car with the glue by accident. So i popped into ma hobby shop and asked for some clear glue and he gave me CA ZAP clear glue but this is really thin and goes everywhere, and still leaves white marks. Can you recommend any decent glues and tell me where I can get them from please. Thanks

gasman03
05-11-2006, 10:08 AM
I use model Master lLiquid Cement for most of the plastic parts. it dries fast and very little goes a long way. I've been using the same bottle for about 4 years now.

for my clear parts I use Tamiya extra thin cement. it does'nt fog. but its really runny. so I need to be careful when using it.

edit:
Forgot, you can also use Elmers white glue. its not as strong as the other glue but if you make a mistake, you can just peal off the old glue. and try again.

ZoomZoomMX-5
05-11-2006, 10:54 AM
CA glues are good for most applications but clear parts, but you have to be careful with them! The problem isn't the glue, the problem is how you are handling it.

If you can't escape fingerprints as you learn to build you'll need to use a very mild glue like Micro Krystal Kleer or Formula 560 Canopy Glue (both are best for clear parts to avoid the white haze and plastic/paint damage). They are thick white glues that stick okay when wet and great when dry and you can wipe up fingerprints before they dry w/a damp cloth or Q-Tip. Much slower building this way than w/CA glues, but they're safe and you can get out of trouble easily.

But seriously you should be working on being more careful with avoiding fingerprints. Any kind of liquid glue is going to give you problems until you clean up your gluing act.