Page updated on 07-23-2018

92 Park Avenue tranny issues.

ryan_975
05-06-2006, 04:50 PM
Hi there. This is my first time posting to this forum. I've been researching it for a while now, but haven't found anything specific for the problem I'm having. So here goes...

I have a 92 Park Avenue with 215,000 miles on it. For the most part it runs and drives great. The problem I'm having though is that if I try to make the car downshift to pass someone the engine just lugs down and it won't downshift. If I feather the accelerator a bit it'll go ahead and downshift and act fine until I try to make it downshift again. However If I use the Cruise Control switch to speed up, it'll downshift without a problem.

I've recently (within the last week) replaced the modulator, and there's no change. I'm led to believe that it may be the throttle position sensor because when it's in park and I floor the pedal the motor revs up a little and then chokes. but if I only do 3/4 throttle it' won't choke. Would this cause my problem with downshifting?

Also another problem I have is that every now and then the transmission will slam into gear from Park to Drive. It's done it cold and warmed up. What would cause this?

Thanks in advance -- Ryan

ryan_975
05-06-2006, 04:57 PM
oh yeah, there also seems to be plenty of vacuum to the modulator.

tman
05-06-2006, 06:46 PM
Not much you can do about the slamming to drive issue, unless your fluid need changing.

But you might want to check your fuel filter as well for the chugging. They're cheap and easy to replace, I always start with the cheap stuff first :) If you'd rather check the fuel filter as opposed to replace it, remove it and put your mouth on one end of it, ideally, the direction of flow of gas, and blow, not inhale, but blow. If it blows easily, IE no resistance, then its fine, if theres no/little air movement, time for replacement. As cheap as they are, the taste of gas isnt worth the trouble to me

maxwedge
05-06-2006, 07:15 PM