Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Car turns off when im turning

trigga_b
04-03-2006, 10:47 PM
Im tryin to see why my car turns off when im turning. This is my main concern, but other problems is the my gas hand drops slowly when i stop but when i start driving it goes back up to its position. Also sometimes i have to press the gas after I start it to keep it going. Personally I think it got somethin to do with my fuel injector, but im not a mechanic so i really dont know.

maxwedge
04-04-2006, 09:06 AM
What year? Does it start right back up after the stall also have the fuel pressure checked.

trigga_b
04-04-2006, 10:17 AM
its a 92 bonneville sse and it starts back up after it cuts off.

maxwedge
04-04-2006, 11:09 AM
Wiggle the connector at the ignition module see if the engine stumbles, another possibility.

sixsmiles
04-04-2006, 12:38 PM
I would recommend disconnecting 1 fuel injector at a time and confirm if rpm drops. If rpm does not drop, then check for spark. If spark is good (bright blue) then you can replace injector.
As far as engine dying on turns I had a Bonneville die intermittently whenever the engine rocked due to a poor engine ground. Ran a new wire from block to H frame and all problems went away.

rholland
04-04-2006, 06:16 PM
just had olds of same year and engine in the shop.i found a bad tps that made the car stall in turns and some times coming to a stop

trigga_b
04-04-2006, 09:12 PM
as a matter of fact my rpm stays above 1 like at 1.5. i test drove it today and did hard turns and it didn't cut off if I find out where the fuel injector is ill try that and rholland what is tps? also does anybody know where the block to chasis ground usually be?

sixsmiles
04-05-2006, 10:24 AM