89 Jeep Wrangler - Do safety recalls expire?

Jeepster_Floyd
04-03-2006, 07:55 PM
Do recalls expire? I've got a 1989 Jeep Wrangler that was involved in a Chrysler recall in 1993. The recall involved a cracked windshield frame due to faulty steel material. And wouldn't you know it, my Jeep's windshield frame is cracked. However, believe it or not, I've been fighting with Chrysler for 13 years to fix it. In 94, they refused to fix because they said the Jeep was no longer covered by body warranties - even tho they issued the safety recall. I eventually got over that hurdle. But, as years went by and Jeep body styles changed, I was eventually up against the fact that my part is no longer produced by Chrysler and thus would require their approval for an aftermarket part. I tried a few times and my nearby dealership tried a few times to get this approval, but to no success. Thanks to a friend of mine, a fabricated steel plate maintains use of my drivers wiper. But, I've been driving with the same cracked windshield frame for 13 years - a frame that no longer allows usage of my passenger wiper. Aside from contacting the US Transportation Dept and the NTHSA, what else can be done when you're up against a large company who refuses to honor their recall on an older vehicle with an obvious safety issue?

fredjacksonsan
04-05-2006, 11:42 AM
Hmmm... very odd situation. However I do know that if a recall item was previously replaced or repaired according to the recall, that the same repair cannot be made. So if you've had it done before, then you're out of luck.

But with ANY vehicle that's 17 years old, I don't think you'll be able to go back and have the part replaced for free by the manufacturer.

I'd think your best bet is to simply replace it. There are many places to secure a replacement. A couple of websites:

www.4wd.com
www.quadratec.com
www.jcwhitney.com
www.thejeep.com

mendoza46360
10-21-2006, 10:02 PM