Page updated on 07-17-2018

Window Trouble Update

Holaday1185
03-25-2006, 01:08 PM
Concerning the drivers side front window: The window picks and chooses which days it wants to somewhat work. On some days, the window will go down a little bit, make a terrible cranking noise, and then go up with the push of a button. Other days (which is the most) the window does absolutely nothing. I took the door panel off today just to check for any obvious obstructions. The window makes a clicking noise somewhere within, which tells me that it is receiving power and any wiring is not an issue. I don't know if it is the motor since it sometimes works. Please, I am in desperate need of any suggestions possible. The last thing I want to do is take my car to the deal. Help, I am a poor college student, hah!

Thanks, David

Holaday1185
03-29-2006, 02:07 PM
This problem continues to occur. If I were to go to a deal (this is my last option) how much would it cost for them to tell me the problem?

bigsky
04-11-2006, 03:28 AM
If you have a mechanic you have been to before, and show it to him (take it apart for him), he would probably give free advice. But then you may feel obligated to have him fix it. A Buick shop would be a good bet...just ask if they will give you their advice. If you do determine it is a motor, e-bay or car-part.com would be a couple places to look.

Holaday1185
04-12-2006, 12:20 PM
I'm just not so sure it's the motor. Is there anything I can do to check this? The only reason I believe this is because when it stopped working, it would randomly half work on some days. Just recently, as in this past week, the window hasn't worked at all. What other parts could be broken/messed up?

Thanks

Holaday1185
04-16-2006, 06:57 PM
Turns out it is the motor (according to the mechanic). Are these motors easy to install? They look relatively simple.

Thanks

Loekee75
04-17-2006, 07:04 AM