Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Thinking of buying a LaCrosse

polarzak
03-10-2006, 06:49 AM
Anybody have a LaCrosse? I have looked at a few, I like what I see. Any comments, good or bad, would be appreciated. Thanks

tridentnyc
03-28-2006, 11:45 PM
Anybody have a LaCrosse? I have looked at a few, I like what I see. Any comments, good or bad, would be appreciated. Thanks
I am the proud owner of a brand new '05 CXS (left over at the dealership...got a great deal!). I've only had the car about a month, but I can share some early insights.

Pros: Car looks great inside and out..and get's lots of looks
Ride is very smooth and comfortable
Cabin is seriously quiet (Buick's "QuietTuning" is awesome)
Driver options are VERY customizeable through the info center
Seats are extremely comfortable
Fit and Finish of interior is very luxurious and tastefully done
The Premium Sound System is excellent (I'm an Audio Engineer by
trade)
Love the optional ultrasonic reverse parking assist
Very spacious trunk with fold down rear seats for more storage

Cons: Low Gas Mileage (I'm only getting 18.5 mpg average)
Steering has too much resistance (not adjustable..maybe will loosen up a bit after break in)
Noticeable body lean when cornering (and that is with the sportier
suspension in the CXS)

Overall, I really am happy with this car and can recommend it highly. Hopefully the cons I listed will lessen with break in, except for the gas mileage....18 mpg average is about as good as it gets from what I've heard.

Also, I test drove both the CXL and CXS models and would recommend you do the same. For me I liked the tighter feel of the CXS suspension...it is still VERY smooth. The CXL felt too "floaty" to me (too much like "your Dad's Buick" type ride). The 3.6L engine in the CXS was much more responsive than the 3.8L in the CXL.

Good luck..hope this helps!

Rob

polarzak
03-29-2006, 06:43 AM