2000 Pontiac Grand Am Air Vents

wi_waabs
02-14-2006, 11:24 AM
Hi everyone. I am new to this. I have purchased a 2000 Pontiac Grand Am 2 door coupe. It has the bubble like air vents. I would like to know how I can remove these vents myself? Does anyone know how? Im completely lost. My other car, the vents just popped right out.

silverado122775
02-14-2006, 02:54 PM
Are you talking about the add-ons on top of the hood or the vents in the grill?

wi_waabs
02-14-2006, 03:19 PM
the vents on the inside of the car. The ones on the dash. There are four of them.

silverado122775
02-14-2006, 03:36 PM
Well I am not entirely sure.. I never tried to take out the ones in the Grandam I had. But I imagine you may have have to pull out the front dash assmebly that holds them in.. sure just be clipped on.. but I buy some more clipped in case they break.. and they are sure to do that.

Ridenour
02-14-2006, 05:00 PM
Welcome to the forum. I'm pretty sure you will need to get into the dash to effectively remove them. They have several clips that go like ===|/ if that gives you any idea, so you would need to depress them toward the duct inside the dash, and then the whole unit should pop out.

xeroinfinity
02-14-2006, 08:00 PM
hey I might hav a pick of the vent parts, hold on.........

OK, got a couple that'll help
whole vent together,
whole vent (http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/xeroinfinity/SeCond%20Hand/vent1.jpg)

This is the ring that holds everything on, three tabs(like Ridenour illistrated) they arent easy to remove with out damge, but you can reach into the vent and flip the tabs loose one at a time, while pulling on the entire piece to keep the tabs from locking back in... make since? these will help,
Main vent retainer (http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/xeroinfinity/SeCond%20Hand/ventmainpiece.jpg)

xeroinfinity
02-14-2006, 08:13 PM
um ya, good luck!

Hoags
02-15-2006, 06:39 AM