Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

RX7 or 3000GT

MKIII87Turbo
02-06-2006, 07:04 PM
I had a 93 Stealth RT/TT up until last week due to it getting totaled by my son. I'm debating over getting another one or getting a 3RD gen RX-7. I read that the RX7 engines are good up to about 60K then have to be rebuild. Also read where maintenance is 8-13K a year. Somehow I don't belive that. What is the strait skinny on this, should I stick with the RTTT/VR4 or try a RX7. Also I am a mechanic and everythig would be done by me except an engine rebuild.

G-man422
02-06-2006, 07:07 PM
I say RX-7, switch it up a bit.

jonjonwells
02-06-2006, 11:52 PM
Whoever told you 60K for a rebuild is a tard. You might need to rebuild the turbos by then, but the engine should run over 200K without a rebuild. The rotary engine will run forever if taken care of correctly. That and the RX just hates to go slow. :grinyes: For really in depth help, you can go to www.rx7club.com and they have a really good 3rd gen section with some really talented people.

FDTT
02-07-2006, 02:57 AM
Well 8-13k in matinence a year on a car that is 11 years or older is about how it goes.
FD's are cars that you cant let a dam thing slip on it. It HAS to run like its just drove off the lot 5 minutes ago.
Oil changes religiously, constant oil checks, best fuel possible, new plugs often, new wires, ect ect. There are alot of mods to the car that should be done before even starting the thing. Things like making the stock temp guage linier or installing aftermarket water temp guage. Ungraded rad as the cooling systems were horiably underbuilt in them.

Baiscly its like tacking on anothere VERY needie girlfriend to the existing one you already have :P
If you want something like that then by all means go right ahead. I have been dealing with the same FD customers for years now (well 3 to be exact) and they are all the same. Perfectioniests with lots to spend.

drftk1d
02-07-2006, 06:11 PM
8-13k maintenance a year? bs.