Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Looking for first vehicle

waazzuup
01-05-2006, 07:23 PM
I'm a freshman in college and currently have nothing to drive. I have been looking online and I found a Honda 2003 CR-V EX that seems to be a good deal. I don't know anything about it besides what little information is online. It's at a used car dealership about 2 hours away and I was wondering if someone could carfax it for me.
The VIN is SHSRD78813U135341

I really don't know a lot about buying used vehicles. If anyone has any advice, let me know. Thanks :smile:

Chad82
01-06-2006, 09:23 PM
If it is a used car dealership, they will normally run a carfax for you on their dime.

When buying a used car, I think there are 5 things you need to do:

1) Research. Find all the info on the vehicle you can including reliability, "value", safety, and depreciation.

2) Test drive. Preferably multiple of the same model. This will give you an idea how it should handle.

3) Get a 3rd party mechanic to check it out. If the selling party doesn't allow this, they are hiding something so deal is off. They will know more than you possibly could in the timeline of you buying the vehicle.

4) Assuming all up to this point is good, negotiate. You know what you should pay for the car based on your research. Try to beat that. At used car lots, I always come in low balling. Make it an uphill battle for them, not for you. Document everything wrong with the car. Theres a ding on rear passenger side door? The power antenna doesn't go up and down? Discoloration on the floor? Little things add up. Be meticulous. Get them on the defensive.