Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

question about panel lights from total newbie

She57
12-29-2005, 04:25 PM
I'm a complete newbie about cars. I have a '91 Buick Regal and after three years of being ripped off by mechanics I am trying to do some of my own simple repairs. My recent problem has to do with the lights in the instrument panel. The whole panel lights up except for the gear section. The guys at Canadian Tire tell me it's a light bulb that has to be replaced and in order to replace it they have to remove the entire front dash/front panel. Their estimated cost to do this: $250. My question: is this true? Do you really have to take off the front panel to replace a little bulb on the instrument panel? Would someone really design something that dumb? My $3 solution has been to shine a flashlight on the gear panel. Not very elegant but it works. Any information is appreciated. Cheers, Shelagh.

BNaylor
12-29-2005, 05:55 PM
Needless to say the auto shop is correct. The instrument panel lamps remove from the rear of the instrument panel (IP). They are in holders that twist off. Therefore the complete dash bezel must be removed and the IP loosened and tilted forward for access. The IP lamps are normally AC Delco L194 but brands like Sylvania 194 work fine.

Hope that answers your question and good luck.

dreager
01-04-2006, 05:07 PM