Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Oil Changes

Master01
12-08-2005, 09:51 PM
What do you guy's think my oil change schedule should be if I use synthetic oil instead of regular? 1998 Regal LS 25th aniversery ed. 3.8L V6 Series II.

I used to change my oil every 3000 miles and use a napa gold oil filter.

Currently I am going 6000 miles on the synthetic and filter. I am using Mobil 1 Extended Performance.

Do you think it is too long of an interval between oil changes. I am a long distance driver.

tkirby
12-08-2005, 10:36 PM
What do you guy's think my oil change schedule should be if I use synthetic oil instead of regular? 1998 Regal LS 25th aniversery ed. 3.8L V6 Series II.

I used to change my oil every 3000 miles and use a napa gold oil filter.

Currently I am going 6000 miles on the synthetic and filter. I am using Mobil 1 Extended Performance.

Do you think it is too long of an interval between oil changes. I am a long distance driver.
No I don't think that is to long because alot of the dealerships say to go 5000 miles for a oil change. :smokin:

BNaylor
12-08-2005, 11:04 PM
Just don't depend on the oil life monitor...lol. But seriously 5000 - 6000 miles sounds good. How many miles do you have on your LS?

Master01
12-09-2005, 08:22 AM
Just don't depend on the oil life monitor...lol. But seriously 5000 - 6000 miles sounds good. How many miles do you have on your LS?

It has 45K on it.

HotZ28
12-09-2005, 01:20 PM
I run Mobil-1 extended life in mine and change the filter @ 7500 miles and add one quart of the same grade oil. I then go another 7500 miles and change the oil & filter. My car has 175K and the inside of the engine looks new, no varnish or sludge or crusting. It also uses less than a quart of oil during those 7500 mile intervals and has never been taken apart. The only internal part that has been replaced was the timing set.

The extended life Mobil-1 (pure synthetic), has a conservative rating of 15K between changes.