Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Please Help! My Driver's Side Power Window is Stuck DOWN

george1073
11-07-2005, 08:31 PM
My Driver's side switches operate the rear windows, but not the front passenger side. Until a few hours ago it operated my driver's side window too but now its stuck about 2/3 of the way up and wont close completely. I'm no mechanic. Its November...I would rather put this off until the spring if I could just get the window up, which I cannot do manually despite pulling to the point where I fear I'll break the window. Is there a temporary fix to this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
George

GTP Dad
11-08-2005, 06:06 AM
Welcome to AF!

Try this, remove the switch for the window and touch the two wires together on the side where it makes the window go up. If the switch is bad this should at least let you get the window up. If you cause the window to go down instead just go to the other contact terminal.

If you find you have no power then jumper a wire either from the fuse box or battery to allow you to do this.

Century 2000
11-08-2005, 04:11 PM
This may sound pretty stupid, but have you tried pressing the switch down really hard? My Intrepid and Century both had power loss in the windows, but when they stuck I could always get the windows to roll up or down by pressing down very hard on the switch. I also got a co-worker's window upo by doing this after she swore there was no way to get the window up. Good luck.

george1073
11-08-2005, 05:06 PM
This may sound pretty stupid, but have you tried pressing the switch down really hard? My Intrepid and Century both had power loss in the windows, but when they stuck I could always get the windows to roll up or down by pressing down very hard on the switch. I also got a co-worker's window upo by doing this after she swore there was no way to get the window up. Good luck.