Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

HELP!!!!!Lower Ball Joint Removal on 94 Sonoma 2WD

Getsum
11-05-2005, 06:44 AM
I have the brake caliper and arm off. The top and lower ball joints are removed from the arm, I drilled out the top rivets and removed the top ball joint.

The problem is the lower ball joint will not come out of the bottom hole. I wailed on it with a 3 pound sledge for 15 minutes but it didn't move. Is there a secret to removing this? It is about 3 inches across so there's no way a pickle fork/press will fit in there. It apears to be pressed it. The new one has perpendicular ridges on it where it goes through this hole.

Any advice out there? It's up on jackstands and I'm covered in grease scratching my head...and I'm an experienced mechanic!! Just not on these american trucks....

rlith
11-05-2005, 06:48 AM
go to advance or autozone and grab a balljoint press from their loan-a-tool program (its free)

Getsum
11-05-2005, 06:56 AM
I have the ball joint removed from the arm already, the arm is off the truck. The ball joint is stuck in the lower suspension. I've seen these presses and they appear to be made for removing the ball joint from the arm. Should I take a picture and post it?

go to advance or autozone and grab a balljoint press from their loan-a-tool program (its free)

rlith
11-05-2005, 07:01 AM
Ahh, I misunderstood.... Use a pickle fork..

Getsum
11-05-2005, 07:08 AM
???? The ball joint is 3 inches wide where it goes through. Do they make forks 3 inches wide?

I don't have access to that tool, should I continue to wail on it with the sledge?

Ahh, I misunderstood.... Use a pickle fork..

rlith
11-05-2005, 07:10 AM
Where the balljoint is going into the base of the knuckle spindle is where its stuck right? You just wedge the fork between the knuckle and the base of the ball joint and whack it...(unless I'm missing something here)

blazee
11-05-2005, 03:36 PM