Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

91 Westphalia HEAD GASKET Question

Bob1942
09-25-2005, 10:08 AM
I am looking at a 91 Westphalia with the 4 cylinder engine it has a blown head gasket I can get this van cheap ...I have some questions ...

#1 I have heard that head gaskets are a big problem ? Do they fail a lot ? Are they easy to change ? Are they expensive ? I am a good DIY mechanic.

#2 Is it hard to get parts for VW vans ?

#3 This van also has an automatic transmission I hear these are VERY expensive Are the automatic transmissions failing a lot in these vans ?

THANK YOU ! ---- BOB in MIchigan

Tosh Hawke
10-02-2005, 04:40 PM
I am looking at a 91 Westphalia with the 4 cylinder engine it has a blown head gasket I can get this van cheap ...I have some questions ...

#1 I have heard that head gaskets are a big problem ? Do they fail a lot ? Are they easy to change ? Are they expensive ? I am a good DIY mechanic.

#2 Is it hard to get parts for VW vans ?

#3 This van also has an automatic transmission I hear these are VERY expensive Are the automatic transmissions failing a lot in these vans ?

THANK YOU ! ---- BOB in MIchigan

Hi Bob- I have a 91 Carat that had the same problem. Changed the head gaskets myself with no problem. The total gasket set may run anywhere between $90 to $130 depending on where you are. Parts are easy to get at your local Auto Parts place but found them to be cheaper at a foreign car parts place that deals with VW. And for this year, parts are plentiful. If you know which side your problem's side you can take your head off without even removing the engine--but I recomend taking the engine out and doing both sides that way you would be able to also inspect componets such as; pistons, rings, push tubes etc. As for the auto tranny, I've had no problems yet with mine(had my van for several years now). Very pleased with my van.
Anyway hope this helps. Tosh

westyman
12-26-2005, 02:25 PM
[Bob.