Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Launching with an AT?

1viadrft
08-30-2005, 11:47 AM
Okay... I'm trying to learn the basics here: What is the best way to lauch a car equipped with AT? The car in question is a '90 Nissan 300ZX NA. When all the mods are done I will be putting down around 210RWHP+70-shot of nitrous. I'm hoping mid-12's. A 3200 rpm stall torque convertor will also be in the mix. Maybe I don't quite understand how a higher-stall convertor works... but on an MT you want to be in 1st gear and revving before you are ready to leave the line correct? How is this possible with an AT without neutral dropping and possibly damaging the tranny? Does the hi-stall TC let you rev to (for instance) to 3200 rpm before actually engaging???

I'm a complete noob to drag-racing. I also want to get some track time before all these mods and learn how to launch an AT before I stack on more power. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

beef_bourito
08-30-2005, 12:27 PM
if you want a good launch, whatever you do, dont rev it in neutral and shift it into drive, that will destroy your tranny before long. hold the brakes down and then push the gas, rev it up to wherever you want but there is a point where it will stop (probably around 3000 if you have a 3200 stall converter).so after you rev it up and you're ready to go, take you foot off the brake pedal and hammer the gas, try to do it without spinning your tires so rev it up as high as it will go then if your tires spinn, next time rev it a little lower, keep doing this untill you find the best spot.

2of9
08-30-2005, 09:00 PM
thanks...man, i needed this help too!

1viadrft
08-30-2005, 09:25 PM
Interesting! Thanks for the tips! I shall practice-practice-practice!

beef_bourito
08-30-2005, 09:29 PM