Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Very odd Buick Century noise, everyone please read!!!

Hennessy_Viper
08-27-2005, 04:40 PM
Sup everyone
I'm new to this but I got in here to ask a question, and I needed to know because my Century is everything to me. First off, I use it to drive 60 miles a day to/fro work 6 days a week, plus any other errands. It's been an awesome car, has great power and everything I can need. But recently I have noticed a problem with the engine I'm guessing. For about a year, when I drive in residential speeds between 10-25 mph, without any pressure on the accelerator the engine will seem to surge, or I should say seem to bog down and it does repeatedly until i either go at a higher speed or give it gas. Well, now when I start my engine there is a very noticeable knock in it, but it's a loud, almost like someone is hitting a hammer on metal kind of noise, and it will do it for about 5 seconds. What is weird is sometimes it will do it, sometimes it won't, sometimes if it does it's very quiet, other times the engine revs up very high and it's loud as hell. Another thing I notice is while I'm on the highway, the car shakes now, because I can't put the accelerator to the floor because it gets stuck. If I leave it close to where it gets stuck, the engine kicks back almost violently and I immediately lay off. Usually to give my car more power on the highway I let off the accelerator and get back on it, but it still is stuck. All of these issues to me seem related possibly, I had it taken a mechanic, they think the noise is from the tranny. Another mechanic said he's been workin with trannys for 30 years, he has never heard one make the noise and thinks it's the crankshaft. OK, but here is what's weird everyone: the oil and tranny fluid looks, smells, and doesn't burn at all, never has, and I change both when they need to be changed. Another weird thing. When I leave my car in park, pop the hood, I'll push on the accelerator cable and when I l