Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

transmission fun...

vilerage
08-27-2005, 02:57 AM
i'm pretty sure my problem is the transmission, but a little confirmation would make me feel a bit better before we try and replace the stupid thing (just did the clutch too, like 1mo ago)

I'm a delivery driver, and my car is a 1991 Honda Accord LX. Bought it for way too much ($2000), it seems to have some minor 'performance' mods... like a 'look-pretty' muffler, and a cool air intake.... anyhow, on a delivery today, I missed the shift point from 1st to 2nd (at about 5k rpms), and BANG! CLANG! Odd, I think.... then, I start trailing what i assume are parts (the only thing I saw for sure, looked like some sort of gasket, and the rest looked like small metal debris) I would have gotten a better look at them, but lucky me, a state highway patrolman was behind me... anyway, after pushing it to a parking lot, it will no longer shift into gear, even with the car off. Starts just fine, but makes a weird noise while running (like pennies in a small dryer). We pushed it about 1/4 of a mile, so i'm not thinking that i busted an axle, and imo, if the clutch was damaged, it probably wouldn't start so easily... anyhow, I was wondering if transmission sounds right to anyone else here... and... if anyone knows a good place on the 'net to get one for this vehicle, or if i'm better off getting one at a junkyard... this is the first honda i've ever had, up till now, it's all been ford ;].

Also, is it fairly common for the passenger side inside door handle to snap off? I've been to 4-5 junkyards to find one now, and at all of them, that particular handle is gone, and honda wants about $50 for the stupid thing.....

deaz
08-27-2005, 07:36 AM