Failed Inspection for 3 error codes.

JohnFrisco
08-17-2005, 09:59 AM
1) Oxygen Sensor--circuit 1
2) Speed Sensor
3) Knock Sensor

In regards to the Speed Sensor, I think this bad sensor is causing my odometer/speedometer to intermittently stop/start working. Am I correct or do you think I need to replace the speedometer? The speedometer and odometer either work together at the same time or don't work. When one of them works so does the other and visa versa.

In regards to the Knock Sensor I heard that this can be a real pain to get at and replace. Can the Oxygen Sensor be causing the knock sensor to put out a bad code?

Thanks for any input!

1996 Altima GXE

efosa
08-17-2005, 01:29 PM
Hey,
I am new to this thread stuff. I hope my little information will be of help to you.
The sensor sensor sends signal to the ecm. In the dash, one meter displays the rpm and the other diplays the mileage. These two meters get "instructions" from the ECM. If the speed sensor is not sending data to the ECM, then the ECM has no "instruction" for the rpm/mileage meters. The spedometer and the speed sensors are seperate but components of the same system.
If you have an automatic transmission, I suggest you change the speed sensor b4 you start having shift problems and many more, unless you are not driving the car.

Personally, I would change th speed sensor first before the O2 sensor or the Knock sensor.

After repacing the speed sensor, clear all the error codes from the ECM. Drive the car for a couple of miles, then check again for error codes. If the O2 sensor and the Knock Sensors are still coming up, then replace the O2 Sensor. There are about 2 or 3 O2 Sensor (i am not too certain) but if you disconnect the connections and probe the wires with a resistor, you can tell which one is at fault (low reading). Or you may consult the Haynes manual for specification for the front and rear O2 sensors.