IS anyone having problems with oil burning in 2000 rodeo?

Dcdaniels2001
06-19-2005, 01:06 PM
Hi I'm new at this but need some help I just got my rodeo in Dec. of 2004 and now 6 months later the eng. is doing nothing but burning oil REALLY BAD... i change oil 3 weeks ago and check oil this morring and there's no oil in it.... I went to trade it in last weekend and I'm up side down in my loan can't trade in or can with a payment i can't afford.... so if anyone else is having the same problem please let me know

rodeo02
06-19-2005, 01:37 PM
Browse the many, many posts on oil consumption, usage, etc.... Fairly common on 1998+ 3.2/3.5's. Trading in anything is tough these days with the large incentives & rebates on new vehicles. They all say they want your trade, but they want it for nothing.
G/luck
Joel

marcre
06-19-2005, 03:41 PM
The best advice I can give you is to keep an eye on the oil level. I keep a bottle or two with me at all times. The burning issue is annoying, but if you keep up on it it is no big deal.

Read through the FAQ's and do some of the suggested items to try and reduce your consumption. Change the PCV valve, clean the EGR system real well and you might want to try using sea foam in the engine. Also try running some fuel injector cleaner in the gas before every oil change.

All these will help a bit, but honestly you may still burn some oil. just check it when you fill up with gas and add as needed.

How much oil were you missing when you checked? I hope there was no damage done.

Marc

SilverLS
06-20-2005, 11:03 AM
Mine burns a quart every thousand miles almost to the drop.

I just add a quart everytime the odometer reaches the thousand mark, and no problems.

I only change the oil every 7,500 miles now because I add so much as it is. Every time I change it the oil is very clean. The oil burning thing is almost like a naturally occurring oil change.

suvguy
06-20-2005, 08:47 PM