Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Need's Guidance, Totally Lost

IcebergMan
06-12-2005, 07:14 PM
Hi,

My other thread kind of died so I thought I might start a new one because that thread had the wrong title anyways. So, I'm looking for a car that:

- Get's good gas mileage (Daily driver)
- Can be had for around $5K
- Can be made to run 13's reliably with around $1-3K
- Is pretty reliable

So, what do you guys recommend for me? I have no idea what to get as I'm pretty new to cars so please bear with me. I've looked at the Infiniti G20, Nissan Sentra (200SX SE-R, They're the same car right?), Cavalier Z24, and some other Honda's. What do you recommend for me?

I'm super sorry for all of the questions guys.

Thank you.

CivRacer95
06-12-2005, 07:25 PM
92-95 Civic Hatch (either VX or DX) can be found for less than 1K. H22 Swap (tranny, motor mounts, everything included) 3K, I/H/E and cams appx: $1200, also depending if you buy the parts new or used, the price can vary. You should be looking at mid to high 13's for around $5K.

IcebergMan
06-12-2005, 07:43 PM
Okay, thanks. I forgot to add, the $5K is for the car and the upgrades will come eventually. So it's not $5K including the car and upgrades. Thank you and keep them coming.

Mr. Luos
06-12-2005, 08:10 PM
Find the cheapest, lightest car you can. Spend no more than $750.
Mod the hell outta it.
Go fast.

xXxRocker5150
06-12-2005, 10:04 PM
1st gen DSM's can be had for pretty cheap and can be made fast for pretty cheap.

-The Stig-
06-12-2005, 10:23 PM
Lt1 Camaro/Trans Am.

They run a low 14 high 13 factory, so figure with 1-3k into it. They'll run mid 13s easy, depending whats done.

And if you keep your foot outta it, it'll get good milege... fairly good.:p

EDIT: 5.0 Mustang, same story as above.

IcebergMan
06-12-2005, 10:42 PM
I thought Fox Body Mustangs only got were like in the teens for MPG? I'll check out the LT1 Camaro/Trans Am. Thanks