Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

paint question

stang351
06-12-2005, 12:41 PM
I'm doing a Pontiac Firebird, and I am painting the engine Pontiac Engine Blue(the paint is from model master). The paint is very thin, with a watery consitency. I can see the color underneath it, which is just white. It's a lacquer based paint, so how do i thicken it? Do i just let it sit open? Or should i put another blue under it? Sorry if this is a dumb question, im new to modeling. Thanks

JTRACING
06-12-2005, 12:51 PM
I'm doing a Pontiac Firebird, and I am painting the engine Pontiac Engine Blue(the paint is from model master). The paint is very thin, with a watery consitency. I can see the color underneath it, which is just white. It's a lacquer based paint, so how do i thicken it? Do i just let it sit open? Or should i put another blue under it? Sorry if this is a dumb question, im new to modeling. Thanks

that is the paint in the jar no? if so its enamel, i would say just mix it better and apply another coat.

klutz_100
06-12-2005, 12:53 PM
I don't know the colour or if you are usiing acrylic or enamal or...?
but a) if your are seeing white under it does that mean you didn'\t use a primer? if not you maybe should b) did you stir teh paint THOROUGHLY before starting? c) appply paint in several thin coats to build up the colour without drowning the detail - paint rarely covers in one coat and let it dry between coats,

my 2 cents HTH

also if you spend some time surfing the FAQ section you will find lots of useful info on manyt aspects of painting

lilbudman
06-12-2005, 12:53 PM
I've had this problem before with the testors, I'll usually put a black base coat on, then the black just shows though and it gives it a "dirty" engine look. I'm sure there is better ways but thats what works for me.

stang351
06-12-2005, 01:02 PM