Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

newbie here with some s10 questions

cutter875
05-13-2005, 07:54 PM
ya, im a newbie to the whole american scene, i have been working on hondas for a little while so i know a decent amount about cars...but i found an s10, something in the 80s with a 350 small block and turbo 350 tranny and dual straight exhaust for 2800$...is that a good deal? the truck is in okay shape, not much rust and only minor things that need fixing(most of it is gonna get gutted anyways)

and what will let up some ponies for relatively inexpensive...maybe like 500-1000$...im only 17 and am makin barely 1000 a month so its definantly a budget build that i want to do everything myself and learn it all...any suggestions comments and anything would help me so much thanks

jackass#1
05-13-2005, 08:13 PM
2800 is kinda steep for an 80s s10. check it over really good a 350 doesnt come stock in an s10. get as much info as you can on the engine swap.

cutter875
05-13-2005, 08:15 PM
ya i know the engine was swapped, it runs real good...i test drove it...maybe a fouled plug or something, a little valve tap i think, but its also got giant tires on the back, like 12 inches wide and maybe 24-36 inches high, and it comes with a second set of regular rims too, and the guy who im buying it from is going to give me a discount on sandblasting the body and he will let me take whatever scrap s10 parts hes got for it

jackass#1
05-13-2005, 08:26 PM
well thats a better deal than i thought. what do you plan on doing to it? with a 350 your options are about endless. fuel injected or carb?
a couple of ideas to you would be k&n coolair intake and a flowmaster exhaust.

cutter875
05-13-2005, 08:51 PM