Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2001 Accord coupe engine upgrade question

rycoloh
04-24-2005, 12:27 AM
Hey I'm new to this forum, but I was glad to find it. I'm not a mechanic by any means so I apologize if my questions make me sound like an idiot.

I bought a 2001 accord coupe with a 4 cylinder engine 4 months ago. I'm really wanting some more horsepower in it now and I want to know what my best options are. I'd like to get a v-6 in there, but I'd like to know generally how expensive it is to buy and install. I live in Ohio and don't know of any places to get it done.

Short of that, anything else I can do to give the car more power?

I'd appreciate any responses from all you people with more knowledge than myself!

icE_x
04-24-2005, 11:02 AM
basic i/h/e (intake, header, exhaust) will get you a little more power and prepare you for bigger mods

turbocharger or supercharger will get you a lot of hp, but is pretty costly

you could go the naturally aspirated route, and bump up your compression etc

What is your budget and how much extra HP are you looking for? Then we could give you a better answer custom tailored to your needs! PM me if you have any questions ^_^

Hatrick101
04-24-2005, 11:05 PM
I have the same car you have except its a 2002. For some reason im a big fan of the 4cyl so i stayed with that and went with the turbocharger. Actually having it put in tomorrow. hoping to get 300 hp when all is said and done next summer. I was in the same position you were, didnt know what to do with my car. If you have a bit of money, do the h23 swap then turbo. Or just stick with the turbo on your current f23. If your looking for exhaust get INVIDIA. Ive gotton soo many comments on how good it sounds, i love it. Wish ya luck with whichever you decide.

rycoloh
04-24-2005, 11:48 PM
How much is a turbocharger? Three grand or so? I don't really have that kind of money to drop if that's the case.