Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Building an D16 turbo !!!

ShlemJDM
04-05-2005, 12:29 AM
Hey Guys i have a quastion i have 94 hatch with d16y8 engine in it i want to turbo it im thinkin to do this set up

Pistons, rods, home made turbo kit with T3 turbo with good tunning, set at 12psi what i have to expect on dyno and 1/4mile if im a let say good driver just wanted to know if it worth it im trying to get at least 230whp will this be enough ??

Thanks !

NOSAJ
04-05-2005, 12:58 AM
shooot yeah! But IMO while your in there also sleeve it, cam, valve springs, etc.
easy 12 sec
take a look at turbod16.com when it comes back up

civickiller
04-05-2005, 01:01 AM
yeah you should make that power at 12psi but you only need rods and pistons.

lkailburn
04-05-2005, 10:05 AM
vitara pistons and scat rods.. cheapest way to hit 8.9:1 compression in your y8 and run 15psi all day long

get her dyno tuned and you'll hit 230whp no problem

get a t3 60trim

ShlemJDM
04-05-2005, 01:00 PM
Thanks Alot Guys I JUST CANT WAIT !!!!!!!! I WANT IT DONE TODAY lol You know how feel :jump3:!! When its finish I will Post Some 1/4 mile and some dyno numbers.

lkailburn
04-05-2005, 08:26 PM
deffinitly. but take your time, and do it right the first time. try to not cut corners where it counts..like fuel management.

i've been collecting my turbo parts for months now.. and now it'll only be 7 more weeks until i can install :)

Vtec95Civic
04-06-2005, 11:16 AM
Damn I wish I had enough cash to boost my d16z6..

The expensive part isn't even the turbo setup.. it's all the damn electronics that go with it.

lkailburn
04-06-2005, 11:22 AM
yup and you don't want to skip on fuel management. uberdata isn't tooo bad
60 for dsm 450s,, clips and resistor box
60 for a conversion harness
120 for a socketed ecu
200-300 for dyno time

civickiller
04-06-2005, 12:04 PM
the costs are more than that

turboEKhatch
04-06-2005, 02:12 PM