Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

Leaky Oil Filter Adapter (1997 Chevy K1500)

thecainman
03-23-2005, 09:51 PM
I am trying to replace the gasket and o-ring on a leaky oil filter adapter, but it is not as simple as I had hoped. I managed to get the oil cooler lines disconnected, and I have taken the 2 thru bolts out, but the adapter is still firmly mounted. Am I missing something? Does it twist off? Should I try to pry it off? What's the deal? Any help, would help.

amac209
03-23-2005, 10:24 PM
give it a little tap with a hammer.

2000CAYukon
03-24-2005, 12:41 AM
My 90 K1500 started to leak at the oil filter a few months ago. The gasket was as hard as a rock (110K miles). I ended up using a wire wheel to clean up the part of the adapter that mates with the block.

Like amac209 said, a little wack with a hammer and it should come loose.

//2000CAYukon

thecainman
03-24-2005, 10:08 AM
Great! Thanks for the responses. I have never worked on a Chevy truck before, and I am unfamiliar with this part. I didn't want to create an even bigger headache by breaking something. I will work on it after work today and let you know how it goes.

thecainman
03-24-2005, 08:37 PM
My 90 K1500 started to leak at the oil filter a few months ago. The gasket was as hard as a rock (110K miles). I ended up using a wire wheel to clean up the part of the adapter that mates with the block.

Like amac209 said, a little wack with a hammer and it should come loose.

//2000CAYukon

You guys were right! A couple of firm taps with the hammer and down it came. You were also right about the gasket being "hard as a rock". Mine was too. I'm off to the hardware store to get a wire wheel.

Did you polish the area on the block itself too. Looks like there is an impression of the old gasket material still there. I think I'll pick-up some emery cloth (or fine sand paper) and polish that surface too.