Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

More Horsepower, please......

texjer
03-17-2005, 12:22 AM
Hello All,
First off, I'm a newbie to this board, but have driven Toyota trucks for the past 5 yrs.

Presently I've got a 2001 Tundra TRD (2wd) rated at 245 h.p. I keep seeing ads for the '05s and they're rated at 285(best I recall). Other than trading for a new truck, what can I do to up my h.p. a bit, and not break the bank too!

I've started pulling a horse trailer some on w'ends and this summer am planning on pulling to Colorado for some trail riding. The 245 is "OK", but you know how it goes........you always would like to have a little more.

I've seen some chips on eBay, but I'm leery of those. I've got a cat-back Flowmaster/duals on it and a K&N air filter. That's the only things I've changed on it since it was new. Presently she's got a little over 63,000 miles.

I guess what I'm really wondering is what Toyota did to up the H.P. on the newer trucks. Heck, the new 4.0 V-6 in the Tacoma is rated at 245!

Thanks for any ideas y'all might have.........

Jer

watti27
03-19-2005, 02:03 PM
Hello All,
First off, I'm a newbie to this board, but have driven Toyota trucks for the past 5 yrs.

Presently I've got a 2001 Tundra TRD (2wd) rated at 245 h.p. I keep seeing ads for the '05s and they're rated at 285(best I recall). Other than trading for a new truck, what can I do to up my h.p. a bit, and not break the bank too!

I've started pulling a horse trailer some on w'ends and this summer am planning on pulling to Colorado for some trail riding. The 245 is "OK", but you know how it goes........you always would like to have a little more.

I've seen some chips on eBay, but I'm leery of those. I've got a cat-back Flowmaster/duals on it and a K&N air filter. That's the only things I've changed on it since it was new. Presently she's got a little over 63,000 miles.