Clutch or Throw Out Bearing?

JayDiz
03-07-2005, 07:31 AM
All - I am a manual transmission noob. 2002 Xterra SC, 38,000 miles. Could someone lend me an opinion or method to test?

Situation - we never start from a dead stop in 1st, always in 2nd. Right now, depress clutch, engage 2nd, release clutch - vehicle moves fine. No obvious slipping or studdering. Get up tp speed to shift to 3rd, depress clutch, engage 3rd, release clutch and, as gas is applied in a normal shift pattern, I can hear the motor rev and the RPM's increase, but it feels like the vehicle got very sluggish. It feels like 3rd does not fully engage for a second or two. Eventually, it feels like the vehicle speed has caught up to the RPM's - but it takes a second. Even worse in the transition form 3rd to 4th.

Something is slipping somewhere....

While going uphill in 3rd, if I accelerate hard, you can hear the motor race, but the transmission never responds. Eventually, I have to get off the gas, let the motor come back down, and try it again until it catches and maybe I can get a little accleration up the hill.

Some say it may be the throw out bearing, some say the clutch is going. All I know is something has to be fixed - soon.

Any ideas or methods to verify what is breaking down? Also - what is a good online site with clutch/T.O.B. replacement on these vehicles? I am a manual trans noob and want to do this myself. Thank you all!!

chubbybubba1
03-07-2005, 08:50 PM
60k powertrain warranty? Dealership visit.

ChuckH
03-07-2005, 11:01 PM
Well, I'll tell you this much...

...if you're always starting out in 2nd gear then you've probably worn down the friction surface of the clutch disc and that's why it's slipping when it's hit with the torque from the change to 3rd.

So, my first advice is that you plan on forking over $800 or so to have the clutch replaced.

Second, don't tell the dealer that you start out in second gear and maybe you'll slip some clutch abuse by them...maybe.