Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

is primer that important?

hks_kansei
03-02-2005, 01:00 AM
OK, today i had a look in the local shop to see what paints i have to choose from.

i'll most likely use Tamiya paint in the spraycan, i saw the colour i was looking for (orange) but then i looked and noticed, there was no primer available, of any kind.

no white, no grey, nothing.

so now i must ask the pro's, do i really need primer?

the part is black plastic (fujimi)
i intended to paint it with a two tone job (grey or black bottom, orange top)

the only other alternative is to use Duplicolour (the same colour, but primer is avialable), but i'd prefer steer clear of that, as i dont want to risk melting the plastic, and it is more expensive than the Tamiya paint.

kicth
03-02-2005, 01:18 AM
Bear with me, I am not a pro, but I do know that primer is really important and it is a must as I have learnt the lesson.

When I built my very first car 3 months ago as a 100% beginner, without doing any research on car modelling, I have painted my acura without any primer. It was cool and nice when it was done, although I still got some fisheyes at a couple spot, but I was managed to fixed that. However, the paint started to "disappeared" after a few days and I can see the white body underneath it. End up, I have stripped the paint and restart all over again.

The paint doesnt stick to the body without primer. Plus, without primer, the color that you painted will not be the real color as you expected it to be. For example, if you painted a black body with Metallic blue, without primer, the Metallic Blue will look kinda dull.

The only time that you dont need primer that I can think of is when you use white on white.

Hope it helps.
Pro, pls correct me if I am wrong. :smile:

sjelic
03-02-2005, 01:20 AM