Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2005 Mustang ~ Drag Class question

JekylandHyde
02-10-2005, 08:51 AM
Ford sells the "white body Mustangs" this year.
It is basically a 2005 chassis with a built in roll cage. They are made for racing (off road) pruposes only.
I think they go for around $4000 (no engine, suspension, brakes, etc).

If someone bought one of these and prepared for the Grand-Am road racing, BUT they also wanted to drag race it competitvely. What NHRA class would it be in? What Series is there to run in?

Although I have extensive NHRA drag experience, it is in the Sport Compact classes ... I am not familiar with the ins-n-outs of the Big engine Domestic classes.

Thanks for any help.

drdisque
02-10-2005, 02:46 PM
there aren't any real NHRA touring classes for Unibody cars. I'd suggest running in the NMRA http://www.nmraracing.com/ or the NSCA http://www.nsca-racing.com/

there's classes to suit the level of development you want to put in.

JekylandHyde
02-10-2005, 02:53 PM
Excellent, that is the kind of information I needed.

Teh second link references "Street" cars ... this will not be even remotely streetable, does that matter?

02-10-2005, 03:42 PM
I don't think these "body in white" units come with any sort of roll cage. The price is listed as $3500 which is a super deal just for the production line body panels, a minimal cage would add $1500 to $1800 and an extensive cage with nascar door bars and fuel cell protection and mounts, suspension pickup points tied in would easily cost $2500 +. There are too many applications for these cars for one roll cage design to satisfy.

I also doubt they come with any paint. That is what "body in white" means - no paint. Factory supported racers have been getting this type of assistence since the 60's.

JekylandHyde
02-10-2005, 09:34 PM
I don't think these "body in white" units come with any sort of roll cage.

Dan Davis, Director of Ford Racing Technology, seems to disagree: