1997 Blazer...service engine soon light is on also...this thing sucks gas...

Dano2
02-08-2005, 11:43 AM
Hi, Im a newbie to this board and to the 97 blazer we bought about 7 months ago. Excellent condition, drives nice.
However after many trips to the gas station it looks like this thing eats gas like there's no tomorrow. I'm scratching my head at this because you see people driving these things like they are sports cars. We estimate its getting about 10-12 miles in the city, it was better on the highway.
Does this sound right? I called a Chev dealer, talked to a service guy, he said depending on the gear ratio, he had one the same year, gas sucked he said, couldn't do much about it, however on another year the gear ratio being different his other one got better mileage. Any truth here? and how do I find this info out? Any other suggestions on this gas guzzler?
Also just this morning the service engine soon light came on, another thing to piss me off:) Can you diagnose this yourself with those gadgets you can buy? or best off taking it in? thanks for any info...

regards....dano2

scholzee
02-08-2005, 12:18 PM
I have a 96 2dr 4x4 and with 75 % highway 25 % city I get a steady 18.5 mpg in the summer. In the winter with my remote start and 4x4 use same type of driving I have not seen lower than 15 mpg. The only time I can even come close to 10-12 is with my plow on, 4x4 in use and plowing. Something is wrong and Autozone can read the code for free but do not buy anything from there yet, post the code here and some people will try to guide you in the right direction.

Skeeter6755
02-08-2005, 12:35 PM
Hi, Im a newbie to this board and to the 97 blazer we bought about 7 months ago. Excellent condition, drives nice.