Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

'96 Bonneville shudders

3carguy
12-30-2004, 03:40 PM
I have a 1996 Bonneville with 100,000 miles. At speeds above 50 the whole car shudders when the throttle is depressed just slightly, such as when trying to maintain speed. The only way to stop the shudder is to back off the throttle or accelerate harder. It accelerates hard as well as ever. The engine has had a head gasket replaced and the upper intake replaced for the coolant leakage problem common to the 3.8 engine. The problem existed before these repairs were made. Any ideas?
Thanks

deadring
01-03-2005, 01:20 PM
well if it's only in ONE place on the pedal, i'd check for the throttle position sensor.

deadring

oldmanschild
01-21-2005, 07:08 PM
OK dudes,I myself have a 96 bonneville that had the same prob.good thing i'm a mechanic and can fix it using a lift where i work.I got the car from a dealer auction with 94 k on it,I tried many things and one thing that worked temporarily is putting in a bottle of lube guard in my tranny.what it does is cleans out the thick crut between your selenoids for your gears so that they engage properly when needed.I can't believe you said tps can cause the shudder man :nono: Now what it can be is a faulty (tcc) which stands for torque converter clutch selenoid which is located at the valve body,and that you can get to where that side pan is on your tranny which is pretty visible when you take the drivers side wheel off.Allthough ther is quite a bit of work involved to do that so i wouldn't recommend doing that by yourself if you don't have much experience with mechanics and certain tools you might need.Worst case scenario man is that either your tranny is shot or your torque converter itself!(which is a involved job since you gotta rip the tranny out to change it).Welllllllllll i hope this helps you,and i would say try that stuff i said called lubeguard for the tranny which is used by tranny rebuilding pro's and not that easy to find