Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Identifying an 86

TheBlazinAzn
12-04-2004, 03:36 AM
I am a new member here so excuse me if this has been discussed before. i DID do a search and came up empty.

background: former driver of a 99 G20t, crashed it and now im looking for a new car.

what i want to know is is there anyone i can tell if a car is an 86 by lookin at the body or the engine bay, is there some type of code in the VIN number that will help me? i am pretty new to this car but i have been reading a lot of great reviews and a lot of tech talk from three different forums.

there is one car in particular that im looking at, its an 88 corolla. i have no idea if its sr5 or gts, im hoping its a gts and twin cam. but most of all i wish it was an 86.

i dont wanna misidentify the car and buy the wrong one.

thank you,

TimV

racer_in_black
12-11-2004, 12:17 PM
The vin number is either going to start with AE86(SR5) or AE88(GTS). The year is 1984-1987. The number under the hood on the back firewall is going to start with AE86 no matter what it is.

DRiiFT_King
12-17-2004, 03:34 AM
the ae86, was produced, from 83' to 87'. the rego would tell you if it was betwwen those. i live in australia, so they are not know as gts and sr5, remember, there all american delivered so, gts and sr5 wont be in any vin number, here is a picture of one, notice that the rear has a fast back look to it, you wont find any corolla other then a sprinter that has that. most them a tiny and more hacher. you also have the coupe version as well.

http://img155.exs.cx/img155/9209/IMGP84.jpg

racer_in_black
12-21-2004, 01:06 PM
I didn't say the vin had GTS or SR5, I said they had AE86 or AE88. You're right though, that is in the states. I don't know what they would have in the land down under, I'm guessing they would still have AE__. I didn't see any when I was down there, maybe next time.

ae86-sr5
02-09-2005, 01:37 PM