Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Cold Air Intake ???

93speed
02-28-2002, 06:41 PM
Please excuse me if this sounds really dumb, since I'm new at this, but does putting a cold air intake really have THAT much of an impact on power? Just wondering...
Thanx for your help

VTECseoul
04-24-2002, 05:39 AM
yes it does...dyno tests are old about comparing the 2, but in all honesty it's only different by 2-3 wheel hp.

tynebeach
05-06-2002, 06:25 PM
yeah, tests have shown they do add horsepower, the most ive ever heard of though was like 6 hp.

Here's another question though, why does a new sport air intake work better than the stock air intake on cars?:confused:

archangelxtc
05-09-2002, 09:04 PM
Not only do they add a few horses at the wheels, but the AEM CAI sounds Grrrrrrrrrrreat!

1992civic
06-15-2002, 06:34 PM
anything that gives your engine more air is better. a stock air intake system restricts so much air. but it also depends what kind of intake you are getting. dc sports intake or an iceman intake are 2 good brands. they increase air flow by 60%... i also bought that stupid tornado fuel saver, ( i know thats stupid) and i had better throttle response at high rpms. it really works.

Civic98
06-19-2002, 07:50 PM
Yes it does give u good horsepower and also alot better sound......

Duatone
07-20-2002, 03:02 PM
if you get a plastic or carbon fiber intake, they will be about them ost heat resistant, anyways, your best bet is to get a CAI or a RAI since you only get a whopping 1HP with every 10 degree air difference.

tynebeach
07-22-2002, 06:43 PM
man those stats suck. guess its better than nothing though

BullShifter
09-06-2002, 02:05 AM