Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

D16 or B16A2 with turbo...HELP!!

Schister66
10-30-2004, 02:25 PM
I have a 1997 Civic EX coupe. Its been lowered, a short ram 3" intake,
4-2-1 headers, racing cat, straight through 2.25" exhaust, strut tower bar and 16" Konig rims. I'm looking for a way to make my car fast, but not overkill. I have the money to do it, but need to pay for college right now too. I want a turbo, but nobody seems to support the idea of a D16 running 8-12lbs of turbo boost. Also my car has almost 85000 miles to add to the problem. I want to know if i should take it slow and buy a B16A2 motor or some other new motor or if i could make my D16 stock motor perform well enough to justify spending BIG $$$ on it. I'm fairly new to the whole Honda scene and also heard that the block on a D16 is not the same kind of quality as a B16A2 or the B18C5 that everyone wants me to get. I need some advice PLEASE!!!

civickiller
10-30-2004, 02:41 PM
you say you want to make your car fast, theres a variety of fast cars to people, theres 10 sec cars, 11 sec cars, 12sec cars, you get the idea, you need to give us some way to measure how fast you want to go like by giving us a 1/4 time you want to run

Schister66
10-31-2004, 11:39 AM
When i say fast, i mean around the speed of a GSX eclipse or pushing it to mean a WRX, but i talked to a friend of mine that works at a Checkers store and he was saying that for a good, effective turbo system on my car, it would cost around $6000 at least, between the turbo and the fuel management system. I don't think my Civic has the potential in it to justify spending $6000 more on it. I might go find another 300ZX TT and work on it. My parents had one, but it wasn't a TT. That's probably goning to be in a few years.

Greenblurr93
11-01-2004, 05:57 PM