Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

02 1.8T upgrades

FierceGT
10-23-2004, 04:40 PM
My girlfriend just bought a 2002 1.8T Jetta. I was wondering what the best upgrades are that would give the best performance for the buck. I was considering installing a blow off valve and turbo timer. Are these worth the money or should I wait untill I have other mods done too it? I am new to this engine, and have never really messed around with a turbo...so please give me some ideas!

Dr.Gonzo
10-24-2004, 02:42 PM
Ah So glad you asked taht question so many people in the VW section of this forum never ask about performance.
1. Chip it. GIAC, APR, Revo, Neuspeed, TT(Techtonics) and AMS . I do believe there are others but I heard the Upsolute isn't very good. The chips should give any where between 15-25hp gain and around 25-45tq

2. Get a diverter valve when getting a chip b/c the stock one won't last long. A blow off valve won't do much and really shouldn't be used. This won't do much but keep the engine going strong.

3. Cold Air intake is always nice the ABD one has been dynoed and has had the best results not much tq gain but like 10-12 hp gain. Others can be bought from Neuspeed,Techtonics, Eurosport, Autotech, etc.

4. Turbo back exhaust and a upgraded down pipe. Turbo back pipes you can get from Techtonics, Neuspeed, and ABD, I am not sure what other companies make them.

5. Intercoolers. I believe Spearco makes some of the best intercoolers for the 1.8T I haven't heard good things about the ABD. The stock intercooler on the 1.8T isn't very big and get heat soak quickly.
The new intercooler should net you about 10-15hp
but will keep the hp there b/c heat soak won't set it so quickly.

6. Other things are lightened fly wheel, pullies, better clutch.(The stock clutch on the 1.8T's are renowned for falling apart.) I am not too sure about how much hp pullies give you but they are decent and combined with a lightened flywheel help you get up in the revs really quickly.