Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Trouble with oil pressure

Rivendale
10-13-2004, 07:50 PM
When I first start the car and the engine is cold, it idles with a pressure of 40 on the gauge. When the car warms up, the oil pressure drops below the red line when it is idling, and goes back up when I get on the gas. Has anyone had this problem, and what have you done to fix it. Thanks :)

bigboyisme
10-13-2004, 10:26 PM
I have the same problem with mine. My cousin told me it probably was the crankshaft wearing out, the shaft has holes drilled in it to lube the bearings and the pressure drops as the holes get larger and the oil gets warmer, flowing easier. I don't know if this is actually true, or if he was pulling my leg but I have been driving mine this way for the last 3 years without any problems but that doesn't mean you won't. The only hassle I have with it is that the chime goes off when it drops. I think it is probably the oil pressure sensor or sending unit, but I am definitely no expert and I would like to know how much of what I know is correct. I am sorry I could not offer you any cure to your problem.

GTP Dad
10-14-2004, 05:27 AM
This does happen with older engines as the pump wears and clearances get greater. You may see an improvement if you increase the weight of the oil say from a 5w30 to a 10w40. If it keeps getting worse you may want to replace the oil pump as this should correct the problem.

Rivendale
10-14-2004, 04:56 PM