Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

I have an Interesting fuel problem

danielsmi
10-12-2004, 03:03 AM
I own a 96 LS auto w/80k mi and I notice that when my gas tank is almost empty my car takes much longer to start than if it is full. Normally my car will star in 1 second but when low on gas it can take 3-4 secs. I'm new to cars and I'm just wondering if that can be a sign of problems with my fuel system?

Daniel Smith

Mannyb18b
10-12-2004, 12:30 PM
no problems with your fuel system. Your probly running 87 octane huh

CivicSpoon
10-12-2004, 12:35 PM
Could be a clogged fuel filter. I had that happen to one of my cars and it ended up burning out the fuel pump a few times. When I let it get to near empty it'd bring all the sediment up from the tank into the filter and clog it. This is of course if you're not just using the low octane gas like Mannyb18b said.

GSfrankenstein
10-12-2004, 03:39 PM
Could be a clogged fuel filter. I had that happen to one of my cars and it ended up burning out the fuel pump a few times. When I let it get to near empty it'd bring all the sediment up from the tank into the filter and clog it. This is of course if you're not just using the low octane gas like Mannyb18b said.

spoon uses secret fuel pumps that are able to be burnt out more than one time. where do u get these fuel pumps and how much do they cost?

danielsmi
10-12-2004, 03:41 PM
Nope I'm using 93. That's what I thought might be happening how does that crap get in you gas tank to begin with?

I guess I'll go get the fuel filter changed, that isn't something that I a newbie can do is it or should I take it to a mechanic. It's not as simple as an air filter is it?

Daniel Smith

GSfrankenstein
10-12-2004, 03:44 PM
it requires very advanced mechanical skills

-PeterParker-
10-12-2004, 03:45 PM