Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Has anyone used Engine Restore on their Integra/RSX?

danielsmi
10-04-2004, 01:23 PM
Hi this is my first thread on this forum I'm a newbie to cars and I have a 96 integra LS with 80K miles. I was interested in buying this engine restore poduct that comes in a silver can and you add to your oil. I did a search in this forum and found good results for the product, people claimed their engine ran better overall after using it. For those that don't know it's supposed to increase the compression in your engine by filling in scratches caused by the piston rubbing against the engine wall. Upon further research on the internet I came across multiple accounts of people using it and their engine ran better for a while and then they would break (slip)a bearing. Engine Restore has metal flakes in it and that is what fills in the scratch marks, the metal flakes are heated up by the engine and they melt and fill in the scratches and I guess solidify after engine is turned off. Also the metal flakes supposedly clog up the oil filter and prevent it from doing it's job, and they also I guess settle at the bottom of the engine and crust it up and that is what causes the bearing to slip. I've been on other forums for a long time and know that people only post when they have problems or bad experiences with a product so I want to know if anyone has tried this and had continued sucess with this product?

Daniel Smith

pikkagtr
10-04-2004, 09:06 PM
i've used it on several of my previous cars including a 91 accord, a 5th gen lude with about 50k and it seems to work a the first 750 miles or so
hope this helps

danielsmi
10-07-2004, 10:53 PM
Thanks, has anyone else used the product with success?

Daniel Smith

gsr916
10-08-2004, 01:57 AM
why bother using it anyways. 80k on a 3rd generation B18 is nothin. its still a child!

integralover
10-08-2004, 01:42 PM