Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Buick Centurion

JTHM420
10-01-2004, 07:50 AM
I just bought a 1973 Buick Centurion with the 455-4, and I have a few questions. How can I tell weather or not it has the stage 1 heads? On take off it likes to stall and make a sputtering noise or a loud "pop" sound, the only things I could think of are the timing, the carburettor, or maybe the distributor contact points, the guy said he had put new ones in at one point, but never gaped'em. Once it starts moving' (about 8mph) the engine stops bogging, and becomes very responsive and pretty quick.
It sounds healthy, no smoke, no clicking. Another question I have is about the "vacuum pump" on the right hand side of the block, I wanted to know if that thing is necessary or if it’s just for emitons, if it is for emitons, can I take it off and gain a few hp??
This is my first time on this sight, and I would like to think everyone for helping. -JD

Madcat455
10-01-2004, 08:38 AM
The only way to tell Stage 1 is to remove the heads and measure the valves.

Vacum pump is purley for emissions... Don't know about performance gain, but you can get rid of it.

You've pretty much hit on the sputtering... Buy new points (they are cheap) and make sure you gap it correctly.

You can check the carb as well.. Might have something clogged or dirty inside there. (I'm betting the problem is in the carb tho.... Points usually tend to cause problems at higher RPM's) Or could be a combo of things.

Good Luck

JTHM420
10-01-2004, 03:07 PM
A few other questions i have about the 455. I keep hearing that i wanna get a better oiling system, is this true, and if so where do i get one??

PS. thinks for the help thusfar madcat

Madcat455
10-01-2004, 04:42 PM