Register and join the largest automotive community online!
Please Register or Login to access: DriverSide DriverSide Home | Service & Repair | Car Prices | Parts & Accessories | Reviews & Advice | My Garage

What is this??? Nissan in Court


Google  
Web AF

k3smostwanted
09-28-2004, 04:03 AM
what is this all about??? how come Nissan is the only company to have a ban on their official website for commercial use? http://www.nissan.com/

MikeMan
09-28-2004, 04:09 AM
I would say that nissan.com was a non nissan-owned entity that were making profits. Nissan would have then taken them to court over the trademark I'd say.

-Mike

Karen512
09-28-2004, 09:29 AM
Yeah, Nissan (car company) had been www.NissanDriven.com for a while. Now its www.NissanUSA.com I dont know if it is different for other countries, but i know you can clikc in different countries when you first enter the site.....mabee it redirects you to the different countries...?

DeleriousZ
09-28-2004, 02:30 PM
ooohhh i bet nissan was pissed off when they found out that domain name was already taken.... sorta like that mikerowesoft.com issue, damn was that ever hilarious

ZedEx
09-28-2004, 08:37 PM
www.nissan.co.jp is the real site.

Another example of how a big corperation is rooting up smaller ones... The dudes last name is NISSAN... Why not use that in your damn company name?

O well... Not a big deal.

-Wes

longlivetheZ
09-28-2004, 10:11 PM
This has been going on for QUITE a while. The www.nissan.com people had the name before our beloved car makers did. Nissan used to be called Datsun, as I'm sure all of you know. What you may not know is that they changed their name from Datsun to Nissan as a PR move because Datsun made aircraft for the Japanese durring WWII. Kinda turned people off, I guess. AAAAAAAAnyway...the www.nissan.com people are defending themselves because our beloved car makers are trying to take the name and website away.

Add your comment to this topic!


Google  
Web AF