Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

If you own a Corvair, SPEAK UP!

SpitAndDirt
09-14-2004, 01:48 PM
My Corvairs (65' 110hp PG and 66' 110hp 4sp) are the first vehicles I have ever owned. I started learning how to work on cars beginning with my 1965 Monza 110hp Auto. It was my first attempt at rebuilding a motor. Some would say that I'm crazy for doing so, but people don't realize the whole story behind the car. In fact, die-hard Camaro owners will cringe at the fact that the body lines of the first Camaros were taken from the lines of the 65-69 Corvair. The designer Larry Shinoda was responsible for this. I could throw out some more interesting facts, but I want to see who responds to this forum first. One myth that everyone should know as being false is that the Corvair is a dangerous driving car and Nader was the SOLE reason the Corvair was discontinued. I wave the BS flag here. Nader had a part in that he brought about bad publicity with his book(Unsafe at Any Speed) concerning the fact that GM underdesigned the suspension on the 60-64 model Vairs' . His book did not solely badmouth just the Vair' as he actually cited problems with other manufactures vehicles as well. For those that have not read the book, YOU HAVE NO REASON TO TRY AND TELL ME THAT MY CAR IS DANGEROUS. I would say that his book, and the reaction to it, is directly related to the creation of the NHTSA. The truth is that the car was not designed to be driven like a hot rod, it's was originally brought about to be America's answer to the hot selling VW Beetle. To be sold with economy and dependability in mind. As for the real cause to the demise of the Corvair, FOMOCO had introduced the Mustang and it's sales were tremendous. I believe that the highest selling years for the Corvair was 64-66. Corvair sales numbers severely dropped after buyers rushed to buy Ford's hot new convertible. GM knew it needed to provide a competing product. So in 67 the Camaro was introduced and so the feud begins