Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1987 RX-7 Information Needed (Long)

CasperIV
09-05-2004, 02:29 PM
I'm rather new to the whole RX-7 world.... I'm a Nissan/Datsun guy. While I have always been a fan, I have never really worked on any of them, and don't know much about the rotery engines. As it turns out, I will have a chance soon to buy a 1987 RX-7 for a really good price, but it needs some work.

It is part of my nature to be looking for more power, and better performance, so the first thing I did was learn a bit of RX-7 history, how the engine works, and what the differences are. This leads me to question number one, how much does a 2nd gen RX-7 (1987) weigh? Question two, how hard is it to swap a 13b twin turbo from the 3rd gen into the 2nd gen (With the tranny, engine, harness, ecu etc.)? My last question, how many problems will I have with a second gen RX-7 in general with a new engine and tranny?

Any help would be great, I want to build this car to drive while I work on building a Datsun 240Z for racing :)

Gibbsy_au
09-05-2004, 06:58 PM
I love 240Zs.

I wouldnt bother swapping a tt13B into your rx7. Apparently the sequential twin turbo set up is overly complicated and lacks reliability. The last thing youd want is to do is swap in a tt, then have problems and decide to go back to a single turbo anyway. Thatd be pretty wasteful.

Are you getting a turbo 2nd gen RX7? or an NA one? Id reccommend trying to get a hold of a good 13B single turbo engine and work that. Big potential and far fewer headaches.

Anyway i think thats not bad for openers, im sure there are some other guys on this forum better equipped to give more in depth advice though.

Good luck with it.

WankelTII
09-06-2004, 10:48 AM