Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

questions about the diff.

lalojamesliz
09-04-2004, 08:35 PM
i know i ask alot of questions but i just like to learn about my truck. i have a v6 2wd trd prerunner and it says to lock the diff. under speeds of 5mph but how fast can you go with the diff. locked? im not trying to be a speed demond with it locked im just curious and what type of diff. do i have (limited-slip,posi?) im new to rear wheel drive the car i replaced with my tacoma is a 98 4cyl auto camry oh yeah and is a ticking sound normal (it sounds like pressure) in the right side of the engine compartment? (if your facing the front of the truck)thanks again.

Brian R.
09-04-2004, 09:16 PM
Toyota assumes that the only reason you would lock the differential is what you are barely able to move and need every bit of traction to get out of wherever you're at. It is not a good idea to drive at all with the differential locked.

You most likely have a standard non-positraction differential. If you really want to be sure, the next time the truck is on a lift, rotate one of the rear tires. If the other tire rotates in the opposite direction, then you have a standard differential. If it rotates in the same direction, you have a positraction.

I don't remember Toyota ever putting a locking mechanism on a positraction differential, but I don't know this for a fact.

superjoe83
09-09-2004, 12:34 AM
the trd taco's come with a electric locker, when unlocked it acts like a open diff, but when locked, its essentially a spool
and i believe with the prerunners, once you lock it, you can go any speed

Brian R.
09-09-2004, 01:52 PM
Don't lock it on the road. You will go around corners with one wheel dragging and could loose control. Your outer wheel has to turn faster than the inner wheel in a corner. Even changing lanes will put a strain on the axle and rear end. Bad idea.

vuthie
09-18-2004, 12:25 AM