Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Newbie -- Searching for a '89+ Cressida...

rexer1or
02-04-2002, 12:32 PM
Hello everyone, I'm Brent. While I'm a newbie to this site, I'm not a newbie to automobiles. I started out with the CRX, owned an '86 and a '91 Si, then I progressed to the MR2 ('86 NA), now that I've sold that I'm looking into the Toyota Cressida. I do want to get the MR2 later on, but finances are low right now so I just want a dependable daily driver.

What are your thoughts on the Cressida? I'd really like to get a '89+ because I like the styling the most and I have a budget of $4K. I'm not in too big of a hurry either and I am willing to fly to find the right one as I can do so for cheap.

I would prefer to have a 5 speed Cressida, hence the reason I'm willing to fly. I know 5 speeds are hard to find in the Cressida, but I just love how fun a manual tranny is and the complexities of an auto tranny scare me (I'm a DIY'er). I'll settle for an auto if I have to though. I test drove one and loved everything about it except for fuel economy, but I'd venture to guess there's a way to de-tune the engine for better fuel economy isn't there?

I'm interested in the Cressida because it has RWD and I'm kind of spoiled with that after owning an MR2. It's been labeled the "four door supra", I like that. I think it's nice to have four seats for a change, I'm trying to become more social.

If you guys could help me find one or at least point out some searching resources, I would greatly appreciate it. I've been looking at Ebay and traderonline.com so far. Also, please give me your insights on this wonderful car.

- Brent

Hobbes
02-04-2002, 02:20 PM
Welcome!!!! :cool:
After reading your post, the only thing I can do is give you insights on it.