Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

spec needed

beastfromeast
01-30-2002, 12:29 PM
Hi everyone. I'm studying in mechanical engeneering and I'm doing a project at school about engines. Is it possible for somebody to give me some infos that could help me on my project. I need informations sbout pistons, connecting rods and crankshaft. Also, if you have infos on anything else like turbos, superchargers or other mechanical parts, please email me : Raph_sicard@hotmail.com

Thank you very much, I will reply to any post.

Raph...

jimmyfunk
01-30-2002, 02:20 PM
your question is WAY to broad...I wouldn't even know where to begin. You're going to have to be a little more specific. What exactly do you want to know?

b16b bomber
01-30-2002, 02:28 PM
go to this site: http://www.howstuffworks.com
it should answer alot of your questions

beastfromeast
01-31-2002, 07:12 PM
Thanks guys, but I speak to my project director and he told me that it wasn't really what he was asking me. So I choose to built a brand new type of engine, because anyone who study in mechanical engeneering know that our type of engine is a big mistake in mechanic. So I start to think of new kind of engine.

If anyone have an idea, I'm WIDE open, even if my idea is almost fixed. Thanks again, you're a lovely bunch of buddies.

Peace y'all, Raph...

b16a3sol
01-31-2002, 10:39 PM
i dont you even know what you are talking about anymore beast.

fritz_269
02-01-2002, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by beastfromeast
So I choose to built a brand new type of engine, because anyone who study in mechanical engeneering know that our type of engine is a big mistake in mechanic. And exactly why is that? :confused: I think the internal combustion engine is a pretty darn good way to get mechanical energy. They're somewhere around 35% efficient, and the energy density of fossil fuels is fantastic (i.e. you can go a long way on a small tank). Where is the "big mistake"???