Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

'94 Regal Custom Trunk Latch Problem & Cruise Control

johndmc
07-08-2004, 11:38 AM
Hi folks,
I am a newbie on this forum and have a puzzling problem that I hope someone can shed some light on. The subject of this thread sounds disconnected but ---
My '94 Regal Custom developed two problems about same time that may be related. The cruise control will not engage and also the trunk selonoid will not activate via the remote entry or the glove compartment button. The doors operate ok with the remote entry.
Thinking the trunk latch selonoid problem may be the easier one to solve, I went through the agonizing procedure to access the remote entry receiver under the rear hat shelf. When I apply 12v to the trunk selonoid lead (pin H) the selonoid activates ok. Tracing the receiver's relay wiring it appears that pin D should be the normal source for the 12v selonoid activation. A meter on that line (with or without the receiver plugged in) shows about 1.5v, but intermittently shows 12.3v. When the glove compartment button is pushed this voltage drops to 0. This baffles me since it would seem that 12v would be required all the time. Because of the low voltage and watching the relays activate corrrectly with the remote entry transmitter - I kind of think the receiver is ok and the problem is external to it. But what?
Is there a speed sensor that disables the trunk from unlatching when moving? I noticed that the door locks seem to take longer to activate from what I previously remember when the car starts moving. And - if so - could this also be keeping the cruise control from activating? Both these problems occurred on a long trip. If there is a speed sensor, where is it located? There is no performance problem so it seems that any sensor must be separate from the engine controls.

What would be a good resource for a wiring diagram?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

John Mc.

Ruley73
07-08-2004, 06:24 PM