Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

HELP: Gas Mileage Problem

accordguy
06-21-2004, 10:54 PM
Accord V6 EX 2002
43K miles
I'm new at this, and don't know that much about the mechanics of my car.
Before i took it to the local pepboys for an oil and airfilter change, i was getting about 350+ miles/tank average. Right after pepboys, I filled up my tank and reset the miles. After the first new tank, it barely made 300 miles before the light comes on. My driving routine is pretty much the same, no significant changes and i hardly use the AC. I went back to pepboys and talked to them, the jerk said that what they did couldn't have affected my gas mileage, not even changing the airfilter. Is there anything i can do on my own to find out what the problem is or to solve this problem, before i have to bring it to the shop? I looked at the airfilter today, it was upsidedown, the "UP" part was facing downwards. So i flipped that around. I'm not sure if that will harm the engine or not, since it's been 3 weeks from the installed date, but it looks clean. I don't know if that was the problem, I doubted though. I'm on the fourth new tank since I took my car to pepboys, and it's half way and only 103 miles. So at this rate, i'll be getting about 200/tank. I have heard stories like this with a bad fuel sensor, which is expensive to replace. I sure hope not. Could the fuel sensor be damaged easily? Anyway, any help would be great. I'm still bitter about Pepboys, and I can't even do anything about it, they'd brush me off, and i think i lost the receipt by now.

HONDA_99
06-22-2004, 07:18 AM
If you want to calculate your MPG, you need to divide mileage by amount of fuel you put in. fuel gauge isn't accurate enough to use it to determine MPG.
gauge on my car can 100ml right before half tank then I can go another 100ml and gauge will show a just below half tank. Gauge just not accurate enough, its there so you wouldn't run out of gas.