Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

manual vs automatic

strongboy2005
06-20-2004, 11:00 PM
I currently own a 1999 2.2L Chevy S-10 automatic and I'm looking to upgrade to pretty much any muscle car, because anything is better than what I got. My question is: since I currently have an automatic trans. car and I have only basic fundamental skills with a manual trans., whould I be better off getting an auto? Also, I have read that if I ever want to drop in a bigger engine the automatic transmission would be better suited to take the additional power whereas I'd have to replace the manual transmission... Is this true? Lastly, with automatic, can you buy a shift kit that will essentially give you the best shift points, effectively removing user error, and giving you a faster 1/4 mile time?

I know it's a lot, but I'm still learning.

Thanks, Gabe

1g1yy
06-21-2004, 07:23 AM
I drove mostly manual shift cars most of my life, but I have muscular dystrophy and cannot depress a clutch pedal with my left leg anymore, so all my cars must now be automatics. If you have no physical problems then I would say get a manual tranny car!!! Once you get used to it, and good with it, you will love it! There is nothing like going through the gears of a fast, sweet running car. Of-course if you want to build a car primarily for the strip then an auto might serve you better. You can set up an auto to do almost anything you want -- but trust me, YOU WANT A MANUAL SHIFT CAR! :2cents:

Pewter'01SS
06-21-2004, 10:36 AM