Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

how to change intake manifold gasket

dc2dragster
06-10-2004, 04:26 PM
im new to the pontiac cars so i dont know much bout them, my neighbor asked me if i can change her intake manifold gasket on her 1999 grand prix. i was wondering if u guy can help me out and tell me how to change it or a link to where i can find info on how to change the gasket.
tia for the help guys.

GTP Dad
06-10-2004, 06:31 PM
It is not difficult to change an intake manifold gasket but it will take you several hours. First you must disconnect the battery. Drain the coolant from the radiator and remove the engine cover if equipped. If not remove the air cleaner tube from the throttle body. You will need to remove the top radiator hose from the engine. It may be a good idea to replace the thermostat so disconnect the hose where it connects to the top of the manifold. Now you will need to remove such items as the coils, spark plug wires. It is best to number them so you can get them back on the right plug. Now you will need to remove the associated hardware that will prevent removal. Take the belt off, remove the alternator if it is attached to the manifold either directly or by a bracket. Remove the fuel line from the fuel rail after you release the fuel pressure. Be very careful not to damage the rails or the threads when you remove the fuel line. If there are any other hoses or lines connected to the manifold you will need to remove them as well. Disconnect the throttle cable, kick down and other associated connections to the throttle body. Now gently remove the wires from the injectors, there may be a clip that must be removed. Mark each one as to the number and location. Use a piece of tape to mark them.